SANTA BARBARA CITY COLLEGE

COLLEGE PLANNING COUNCIL

May 3, 1988

MINUTES

John Romo, Chair, M. Bobgan, L. Fairly, P. Freeman, T. Garey, E. Hodes, D. Oroz, D. Ringer PRESENT:

ABSENT: J. Diaz, C. Hanson

E. Cohen, J. Friedlander, K. Hanna, B. Miller RESOURCE:

P. MacDougall, R. Dinaberg, G. Robledo **GUESTS:**

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: April 12, 1988

M/S/C Ringer/Bobgan

> Aves: 5 Abst.: 1

ACTION ITEMS

Decision Stage

HI TECH GRANT FOR DISABLED STUDENTS SERVICES PROGRAM

M/S/C Fairly/Ringer

> To approve the allocation of \$10,241 from Lottery, 1987-88, for the Hi Tech Center for the Disabled Students Services Program.

Unanimous

REPORTS

RECOMMENDATIONS FROM CPC ON USE OF LOTTERY FUNDS - DR. MACDOUGALL

Dr. MacDougall stated that he endorsed, in principle, CPC's recommendations on the use of lottery funds to offset costs of the parking structure on the West Campus. (The President thinks that it is unlikely other funds can be secured from outside sources or fund-raising.). He emphasized that although the College must have the flexibility provided by lottery funds for major college projects, efforts will be made to stay within the recommended 50% of lottery funding.

LOTTERY, 1988-89

The Chair reported that approximately \$400,000 is anticipated from 1988-89

Lottery. The Council will rank requests to a limit of \$200,000, with any unranked items carried over to the fall, 1988 semester, at which time departments will have an additional opportunity to submit requests. These, however, will be ranked lower than those submitted during the first round in the spring requests.

A memorandum outlining procedures and timeline will be distributed to Department Chairpersons on May 4.

CPC PLANNING DISCUSSION

The Chair turned the meeting over to Dr. MacDougall, who led a follow-up discussion to the January 13 Retreat on the role of CPC in college planning. The President asked Mr. Burt Miller to compile and distribute a summary of the discussion.

The next meeting will be May 17, 3:00 p.m. in A-218C.

jdm

cc: Dr. MacDougall

Deans

Division/Department Chairs

Mr. Miller

Mr. Pickering

Dr. Ullom

Mr. Guillen