# SANTA BARBARA CITY COLLEGE COLLEGE PLANNING COUNCIL May 21, 1991

#### MINUTES

PRESENT: J. Romo, M. Bobgan, L. Fairly, K. Hanna, C. Hanson, B. Hull,

C. Kuster, J. Meyer, D. Oroz, J. Ullom, B. Vincent.

RESOURCE: G. Gregg

# APPROVAL OF MINUTE: May 7, 1991

Mr. Gregg noted that the "College Computing Coordinating Committee" referred to in the minutes should read "College Computer Coordinating Committee."

M/S/C Boban/Fairly

To approve the minutes as corrected.

#### **ACTION ITEM**

Hearing Stage

Needs Requests 1991-1992

Dr. Hanson distributed copies of the Needs Requests submitted by Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, Business Services, Human Services and the President's Office. It was recommended that the Council consider this item as information and that the Council not rank the Needs since it is probable that no new general funds will be available to support the requests. (The Foundation will consider funding items recommended by the President.) The Vice Presidents reviewed their requests with Council members, and after a discussion period, members voted to take the following action:

M/S/C Bobgan/Meyer Unanimous

That the College Planning Council accept the Needs Requests, 1991-1992, as presented; that they be submitted to the Superintendent/President and if monies are available that the College Planning Council and the Division Chair Council be convened to review the Needs Requests.

### COLLEGE COMPUTER COORDINATING COMMITTEE

Two proposed committee membership lists were submitted to the Council for discussion. The Division Chair Council and the Representative Council proposals each reflected the accepted principle of balanced membership between faculty and administration, and differed only on the specific seats

for faculty representation. The Representative Council recommended the following faculty reps:

Chair from Computer Science
One rep from the Continuing Education Faculty
One rep from the Division Chair Council Chair and
Chair of ICPC or CAI.

Under this plan the President of the Academic Senate or designee would have non-voting status. The Division Chair Council proposes faculty representatives listed below:

One rep from Curriculum Advisory Committee
One rep from the Division Chair Council
The Chair of ICPC or CAI and
The Academic Senate President.

The Chair of Computer Science Department would be a non-voting member.

A number of issues were raised on the recommendation by the Rep Council to include a rep from Continuing Education on the faculty committee: Concern was expressed about including non-full-time faculty on college-wide committees which deliberate policy, governance, and resource allocations issues. Members also felt that this could establish a precedent to include Continuing Ed faculty on committees in which credit part-time faculty do not participate.

There was considerable discussion on the Rep Council recommendation to give the Computer Science Department permanent status on the committee. Members were reminded that there are computer-intensive instructional departments in other areas (e.g. English, Math, Business, CIS) and that it would be unwise to give permanent status to a specific department.

After a lengthy discussion it was strongly recommended that the Chair of Computer Science, the Assistant to the President, and the representative from the Library be given non-voting status.

Although there was consensus for acceptance of the Division Chair Council recommendations, action was deferred until June 4.

### COLLEGE PLANNING: SID

B. Hamre distributed copies of the final draft of the Statement of Institutional Directions. Members will take the SIDs back to their units for a final review prior to CPC action on June 4.

jdm

cc: Dr. Peter R. MacDougall, Deans/Assistant Deans, Mr. Gregg, Mr. Hamre, Mr. Pickering, Instructor's Association, Classified Council, CSEA Rep